Robin Pecknold- I’m Losing Myself Ft Ed Droste

Robin Pecknold- I’m Losing Myself

I’m a fast breather
I’m a hairless dog
and alone at the end of the day I am just like the gathering fog

I’m a slow mover
I’m the best-laid plans
and alone at the end of the day I just sit with my head in my hands

but we speak easy
and we seldom fight
and I chew on the bones of the day while you sleep soft and warm in the night

and I can’t see you
with anyone else
even if that means holding you down
even if that means losing myself

he’s a smooth talker
and he shaves his face
and I wonder if you look at me and instead see him taking my place

but I do need you
and no one else
and I hope you’re around and forgiving when you see me losing myself

This is written by Robin Pecknold (Fleet Foxes) and Ed Deroste (Grizzly Bear) So this song is probably the most amazing way of describing unfulfilled love. The beautiful thing is that the way he laces his words together, he sounds like he has come to terms with how things will end up. Then he sings that he can’t see his love with anyone else and he goes on to say how he loves her so much that he would be so selfish as to hold her down in place, so that she can’t find anyone else.  This song is so calming and also very thought provoking.

Enjoy,

Mazie

Leave me some love

