Daily Prompt: Childhood Revisited…I hate visiting.

The prompt:

First of all… I was told not to ever come back and visit. I am not very tight with my parents.

I am 20 years old.

My parents divorced when I was 16 years old.

That was 15 years over due.

So I don’t visit.

I wish a lot of things were different about my childhood….I wish we didn’t move around so much. I wish that at the first sight of falling apart, I wish they would have. I wish I grew up with my aunt and cousins. I wish I wasn’t bullied. I wish they weren’t too scared to do anything, so instead of dealing with the issue, we moved. I wish I stayed in dance. I wish I wasn’t forced to do martial arts. I wish my father wasn’t my coach for so long. I wish I wasn’t the chicken in the fight. I wish my dad didn’t cheat on my mother. I wish my mother didn’t pretend not to see it.

For the sake of this post, my childhood is every passing second, and moment that is no longer mine.
I wish I wasn’t depressed from the 16 up till 3 months ago…. because there was a lot of stuff I would have liked to have seen.

Sorry if this is depressing… or too personal. I’ve never posted anything like this before. I guess we had it coming right?

So no… I don’t visit. Mostly for the reason that there isn’t anything left to.

8 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Childhood Revisited…I hate visiting.

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: No Childhood Revisit Here | My Blog

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Childhood Revisited … It was not the Brady Bunch | Fasting, Food and other musings by determined34

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Childhood Revisited – Let’s get inspired and also revisit food related disasters from our childhood! | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

  4. I could feel your pain through your words, because of that I do not like to click the “yes” button. You are courageous to pen it down and let alone post it. Letting out the steam in return might heal a tiny bit of your pain and I wish it does. Sometimes it is better to look forward in a positive manner rather than burying yourself in the past so I take your point that you do not like to revisit your childhood.
    Best wishes for the positive future.
    Saba

  5. Having said that, in my opinion, I think you just released the toxin out of your system. Sometimes, we have to revisit the pass in order to heal. Talking through experience. Thank you for sharing.

Leave me some love

