My Writing Process – Blog Tour

I have been tagged by the fantastic writer Nicole Horlings to answer some questions about my writing process. Nicole and I met through the Brock Creative Writing Club in 2012 and we bonded over our loves for literature as well as poetry and noveling. Nicole is currently working on her fantasy novel “Escape,” and has an excerpt on her blog for everyone to read and give feedback on. I as a writer strongly recommend everyone to go spend some time on her blog! It’s certainly a treat! ❤

What am I working on?

So since November’s NaNoWriMo I have been having the sincerest of problems with just sitting down and writing. As much of my followers could probably see I haven’t been posting much in the means of my creative side and more so just my haiku’s and other updates. I’m not sure why it is but i think it is because I have lost the motivation to work with “The place for the out of place” (JUST FOR NOW)

So seeing as Camp NaNo is still happening I have decided to pick up a new project! It’s called “Bound in Shadow” and it is of the fantasy, or occult genre. I aim to have the novel laid out for May, which is when I postponed my first camp month to!

*if you are interested in writing with myself and a few other people, please comment below and let us know! We have no limit on our cabin size! <3*

How does my work differ from others of its genre?

As I have not started actually writing my fantasy project, I will most likely be using “The Place for the Out Of Place” as an example. It was hard to put a finger on a genre for this novel, but when I step back and look at it, I almost want to say contemporary mixed with a coming of age kind of novel. It is surely explorative and far too artistic for anyone to really comprehend. I wrote it like a maze and now I’m afraid that I have lost myself inside of it. There are no ways out currently. so I guess that could be how its different from other novels of its caliber.

Why do I write what I do?

I write because it calms down the crazy imbalanced lifestyle which I lead. I am now in a Journalism program, going into my second year and it has so far been such a bumpy ride. I need the creative or poetic writing to balance out all the journalistic writing which I do. I write because it is my default setting to do so. I write because people will want to read something new some day.

How does your writing process work?

For writing a novel, I’m not all that certain that I have a process! For my first ever NaNoWriMo, I just wrote. Flat out wrote. No word counts, no writing plans, no outline. And I didn’t get past 10k. This past 2013 NaNo, I had an outline for the story, as simple as it was. But I stuck to it. I broke the novel down into chapters and then I wrote the chapters as I went along! Most of the time not in order, because of the style of my novel, and because I didn’t feel that the order should be important.

For the novel that I am writing/starting in May, I have decided to use Scrivener to outline it and to keep the parts organized! I’m going to see how much I like it and if its not working for me, I’m just going to go back to the chapter by chapter planning! I’d love for you to leave a comment about your writing processes! ❤

And now…

It’s time to introduce the authors who I have tagged: (If you are tagged you have to answer the questions above and then tag two more authors/writers within the next week! ❤ Have fun lovelies!)

I’d like to start off with the fact that both of these women are beautiful writers and beautiful souls! And in some way, they both got me to where I am today as not only just a writer but a human being!

Tatjana Ha is an amazing young writer from Germany, who I met on the NaNoWriMo twitter wordsprints! We quickly became each other’s motivations for the month of November, constantly messaging back and forth about our plot twists or writing progress! She kept me writing and we kept each other inspired! On her blog she writes beautiful book reviews as well as all kinds of other wonderful pieces, so please please go and subscribe and like her blog! (It translates so perfectly!) Though life has gotten busy for both of us, I can’t wait for us to have the opportunity to write together again!

Jane de Bat is a spectacular woman in which I had the absolute pleasure of meeting in my first semester of school last year! She not only writes beautifully but so intelligently and in a way that it makes you feel like you are actually conversing with her as you read! She is one of the kindest souls and I don’t know if I would have gotten through this first year without her to be honest! She speaks often about writing a book, and I strongly encourage her always, because the world deserves to read about someone as amazing as her! Please go and check out her sunshiny blog and follow her on her adventures through writing!

Thank you so much for reading, I am so happy that I got tagged in this and I hope everyone enjoys the rest of the blog tour!

5 thoughts on “My Writing Process – Blog Tour

  1. Oh, Mazie, you made me cry. You know how to make me feel special. When I’m around you, I can’t help but smile at your contagious zest for life! You are at times a tortured soul and a sweet young girl, and at other times you are a warrior woman, protector of friends. How many times did you call out “not in my house!” as you came to my rescue? I hope someday you see in yourself what I see; an intelligent, vibrant, beautiful woman. I am honoured to be nominated by you, my inspirational poet.

  2. Thank you so much for tagging me. I am really glad that I got to know you last November! You helped me a lot and I enjoyed messaging with you.
    I would really like to write with you again … someday xD

  3. Pingback: Outlining ‘Bound in Shadow’ | ThesesLittlePieces

Leave me some love

