A writer’s greatest fear: Depression

Okay Pieces, we need to talk.
I don’t know what happened. I was so happy, I was so inspired, I was so driven. Call it the summertime sadness, but it all went away, and now I’m left with no words to write or anything to grasp onto. Maybe I overworked myself, maybe I drained all of the inspiration out into the first month of summer. Maybe I just focused too much on writing and ideas, and swaps and haikus, that I killed it for me.

All I know is that whenever I sit down to write anything, even if its a to do list…. instead of the excitement and love that I feel, I just feel sad.

I have taken many things into consideration… I might just need a break, or the depression may be consuming me again. I mean obviously I wouldn’t be from anything new and it wouldn’t be progressing anymore, but I feel like I kind of just pushed it all into a closet to clean out on a rainy day. I mean, it’s been 6 months with Steven and everyone knows that these 6 months have been the best of my life, but I can’t help if there are still some things unsettled deep down. I need to take some me time, get things sorted out, (priorities, ideas, projects, a game plan) and I need to do it at my own pace, without the stress of knowing that my readers are wondering where on earth I might be.

I swear I’m fine, and I swear it won’t be like the last time. I’m not in danger, I’m not unhappy, I am just sad, and for almost no reason at all.

So Pieces, i think I’m going to take a little bit (more) time off from you. Maybe I’ll start writing poetry again, maybe I’ll start drawing or painting again. All I know is I need sometime. This is not a break up, I promise. This is just a month or maybe 2 off.

See you soon pieces. (With a flood of haikus to catch up for my 365 Haiku challenge, which I refuse to fail.)

IMG_5568.jpg

Love you all so much,

Stay Special,
Maz

One thought on “A writer’s greatest fear: Depression

  1. Hey Mazie, only you know what’s best for you. You are always running at a break-neck pace that time off would not be unexpected. Listen to your heart, but if you need to talk, I’m always here for you! I love you, girl ❤

Leave me some love

