To Asfix

10644334_10152200773776846_5888915933177889465_o

“I am a college student like you, though I do not know what I want to do as a living and am scared that I may end up working at McDonalds for my whole life. There’s stuff I am interested in such as art and philosophy although I don’t have good hand eye co-ordination. I don’t know what to do. – Asfix”

I hear McDonalds isn’t actually the bad thing everyone says it is, but that story is definitely for a different time. If you do not want to end up somewhere like that, than simply don’t. People seem to think that it’s either college or fast food, when really there is no relation whatsoever! I think that the secondary schools are to blame for this, when I was in grade 12 I felt like I was seeing the guidance counsellor 3 times a week to talk about my future and what university I would be attending. I felt so rushed when all that time I thought it should have been a personal explorative experience. I honestly think that these school should bring back the year 13, just so that these 17 year olds can get another chance. I rushed right into university and after 2 years of a very intensive English Literature and Philosophy program, I couldn’t take it anymore. I wish I had of waited a year or more to actually think about what I wanted to do with my life. Sorry about this little rant, I just thought it might show you that it is probably not actually your fault that you don’t know what you want to do.

My advice to you is that you take as much time as you need. I want you to sit down and write down your top three dream jobs. do you remember those little cloud brainstorming maps they used to make everyone do in elementary school!? DO THAT! I kid you not this is what I did to decide that I wanted to be a journalist instead of a princess. Okay so once you have narrowed it down to your top 3 dream jobs, I want you to write 3 skills that you need to do such a job, For example if I picked journalism, I would write photography, writing and reporting. I want you to look at all of those skills and I want you to pick and choose which ones you actually see yourself doing, and do not just pick the easy ones. I want you to pick the ones you genuinely want to learn to do, and the ones that you know you will love doing. Because a career isn’t about the money, (even though money is nice) it is about doing what you love most, so that your job is not actually a job. 
Next, once you have narrowed down which one you can really see yourself loving, I want you to write down the steps in which you will need to take to get there. From enrolling in school, or finding an internship or whatever you need to start, all the way to the top, where you will be in your dream position. You could even map out how many ears it might take or give yourself some kind of deadline. 

The thing about life is that it does keep going, and that you do have time to make mistakes still. If you are close to my age at all, you especially have time. I know people that are in their 40’s that are still in school, and have no plans on leaving until they figure out what they want to do. This is what the part time job is for! So if you want to do art, take some art classes, perfect some skills, talk to artists, surround yourself in art! If you want to work in philosophy, do the same thing, and engulf yourself in theories! Yes the future matters, but that depends on how far in the future you are looking. We can’t plan for what we can’t see, right! 

Just stay calm and live your life just as you want to,

– Maz

Leave me some love

