New Discovery: Rosey Maple Moth

Hey pieces! 

Sometimes I feel like I just brush over my love for this planet and cut straight to the writing stuff (or just book or make up stuff)! Well this morning on my adventures through the internet, I am across the most beautiful, silly moth ever. If this is not some form of once-mythical creature I have no idea what is!

tumblr_mp4rfvi9wG1rmrq5zo2_500

So obviously when I saw this beauty I thought to myself, there is no way this gorgeous fluff could be real. So I wiki’d and googled and just a heads up, IT IS SO REAL AND SO WIDELY “Awe’d” over! It’s stuff like this that makes me think that there might be so much more out there that we have no idea about!

tumblr_mp4rfvi9wG1rmrq5zo9_1280

Here are some facts about the Rosey Maple Moths:

“The Rosy Maple Moth (Dryocampa rubicunda) is a North American moth in the Saturniidae family. Males have a wingspan of 32–44 mm; females of 40–50 mm. They have reddish-to-pink legs and antennae, yellow bodies and hindwings, and pink forewings with a triangular yellow band across the middle. Males have bushier antennae than females. As the name implies, rosy maple moths mainly feed on Maples, particularly Red Maple, Silver Maple, and Sugar Maple. However, the adult moths do not eat.”

tumblr_mp4rfvi9wG1rmrq5zo3_500

I think I’m in love! Honestly, this might be going on my bucket list, I don’t want to captivate or pin a Rosey Maple, But I sure as hell want to see one in person. And one day, maybe, when I’m all settled in, I can build the perfect terrarium for two of these and breed them so they remain on earth forever. A girl can dream.

Rosy_maple_moth_durhamnc_20130816_1

If this is not some modern disguise for a fantasy creature like a pixie or faerie I have no idea what this is, but look at his lil arms and legs and antennae! He is just too perfect! 

This all being said, on Sunday mornings I love to read cool little articles and snoop through the waves of the internet and basically just find anything and everything that I can about this place we live in, so if you ever find something you think that I would appreciate, please please post it on tumblr for me, or facebook, or even leave a comment! 

Happy Sunday, friends!
– Maz

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Leave me some love

