NaNo Prep – Day 11: The Unlikely Times

Hey pieces,
Today I want to talk about maximizing your productivity! This is something that I do all the time, and I like to call it smart-tasking!
Have you ever been doing something and then all of a sudden, you just start thinking about something that you should or could be doing at the same time instead? Well scratch the instead and try to find a way to do both. It takes some practicing at first but here are some ways I optimize my time.

Tricks: 
Do you drive long distances to get to work/school and back? I used to so I know that pain, that 40 minute drive killed my energy and just stopped my creativity. My solution is to take your cell phone and put it on your center console. Turn on the microphone on it, (all before you start driving obviously) and as you are driving, say some of your ideas for dialogue, and plot points, just key events and helpful tidbits you want to record about your chapter. That way, when you get home, you have a 40 minute long recording of all those ideas, there was no forgetting them and the exhaustion actually isn’t as bad after, now all you need to do is type them up.

If you you are on the bus a lot, never be embarrassed to break out the tablet or laptop. Novel writing doesn’t require internet, and even still if it did, you can just type out your main ideas for the next chapter so that it is one less thing that you’ll have to think about when you get home. Even if your bus ride is only 15 minutes, it’s a 15 minutes you are going to put to use!

You might have a job, and often times you will have some times during the day where you will have some down time, keep a little notebook on you at all times for those little ideas that surely pop into your head. It will save you time later on.

Word sprints don’t have to be just for novels, they can be for chapter outlines too. Give yourself 10 minutes to sit down and jot all the main ideas of your chapter down and then when the time is up, have at it, you’ll have a sense of direction, and you won’t have any excuse to sit there waiting for the “what’s next???”

When I had other things to do around the house, like laundry or dishes or dusting, I used to keep my recorder on so that I could say my ideas and get two things done at once. It helped make everything speedier and cut my writing time in half. Once you can get past the talking to yourself thing, it gets pretty easy to do.

I hope these gave you some ideas and ammo for your NaNoWriMo arsenal!
Let me know in the comments below if you have any quirky ideas like these?
– Mazie

Leave me some love

