Getting ready for 2015: Cleaning up my Macbook

Hey Pieces,
Hope the holidays are treating you well, I know I’m super happy to be free from the grips of college for a month! One thing that I noticed about halfway through the semester was that I HAVE ABSOLUTELY NO SENSE OF ORGANIZATION THIS YEAR! Every year before I have been completely decluttered, organized, everything is a system, I have a bit of an OCD complex and its very difficult for me to function without some sense of order. So yesterday and today I have decided to take a stand and put a stop to the mess that is my life. I spent all yesterday gutting out our bedroom, and completely organized everything, I think we took out about two bags full of things we don’t need (old homework, old coupons, magazines, EVERYTHING (other than clothes, thats another day!)

Don’t worry, you’ll see pictures of the room soon for sure! This morning I have spent my time cleaning up my computer! I have had my Macbook Pro for a little over 2 years now, and I know that a lot of people say that they don’t last very long, but I am so careful to make sure that I clean its keyboard and I regularly clear out the files onto one of my external hard drives. A lot of people have asked me how I organize my files and photos and everything and I guess this is why I’m posting this, A tutorial of sorts! So here is how I cleaned up my macbook!

Screen Shot 2014-12-14 at 10.21.05 AM

As you can see there was an attempt at organization, but between my folder for school, documents, and downloads folder (which gets a lot of love over the year for sure) there are really no guidelines. So first I started off by sorting out the downloads folder, into the appropriate folders. As you can see I also have a lot of folders and messy things on my desktop, so that needs to be cleared up too. Especially after November, I have all kinds of stuff that needs to be put away.

Screen Shot 2014-12-14 at 10.26.29 AM

So I have thrown almost everything on my desktop into a sort folder and figured that I would sort this first so that its less work when I get into the main folders down below. Also on my desktop is a folder of photos that I am currently working with and a folder of photos of Asia, my dog who passed away recently, I just finished my project with those so now I can put those back in my pictures folder, which is such a mess I don’t even want to show pictures of it!

Screen Shot 2014-12-14 at 10.25.46 AM

So I have cleared out the downloads folder, its all nice and empty, so we can put that away and move on to the other things. Not in my mac I have a very distinct system, I have my Documents, which is where everything that is not school or writing. Its also where a lot of random things end up over the year like stray photos or voice recordings. Its just the main drop zone when I am trying not to add to the pile on my desktop! Screen Shot 2014-12-14 at 10.29.03 AM

So here is the before photo of my Journalism folder and my Documents folder! I know. Its terrifying!

Screen Shot 2014-12-14 at 11.46.58 AM

Here is how the Documents file looks now after its been cleaned out!

Screen Shot 2014-12-14 at 11.11.46 AM

Here is a peak into the Writing folder, I added some other little subfolders as well! Theres a few things that I didn’t have a place for so I just left them out and about!

Screen Shot 2014-12-14 at 11.47.14 AM

Here is how I ended up organizing my Journalism file! It worked out for me!

Screen Shot 2014-12-14 at 11.48.59 AM

And finally I cleaned up my photos! Theres still more work to do, but its alright for now!

I hope this inspires you to back up and organize your computer a bit! I can’t even begin to express how great it feels to have cleaned it all up!

Send me no ideas on organizing my photos! I need the help for sure!
Have an organized day!
– Mazie

2 thoughts on “Getting ready for 2015: Cleaning up my Macbook

  1. Pingback: Getting ready for 2015: Cleaning up my Macbook | Having a fun Life!

Leave me some love

