Planning for Beginners: Mastering the BRAIN DUMP

Hey there Pieces!

Back in January when I posted about my planner system, a lot of questions rose about the Brain Dump. “What’s a brain dump?” or “What’s a trigger list?” were just a few of the most viable questions so I decided to break it down and teach everyone what I know about this amazing tool!

So the first thing you will need is a notebook you take around with you all the time anyways, or a notebook you don’t mind bringing around with you. For me, I use my older half used notebooks, so that I can use them up and store them after. A good example is this notebook below. It was formerly a school notebook for last semester but I have decided to make it my brain dump book, whenever I need to write something out of my head, it goes in here. This is an extension of my brain.

IMG_8912

Its just a simple composition book from walmart, I got it in the summer for back to school. I was in love with the  geometric pattern!
The next thing you are going to want to do is take another piece of paper, and go through this master trigger list and write down all of the things that apply to you. The point of this is to write down only the triggers that you have to worry about, the less you have on the list, the quicker the brain dump will be, but be honest, don’t skip things just because you don’t want to make yourself think about them.
After you write them on your piece of paper, find a way to attach them to your notebook, it can also work as bookmark! **If you plan on dedicating a part of your planner or a whole notebook to this, I recommend you create an idea index at the front, and colour code it so that nothing gets lost, because depending on how busy your brain is, this book can get HECTIC. (mine does at least!)

IMG_8911

The next step is going to be on a daily or nightly basis. Every night I sit down before bed, and I go through my trigger list. Its a list of things that I need to make myself think about, pertaining to work, freelance, school and projects. I just write out everything that comes into my brain when I think about those things and about 6 pages later I am left exhausted and calm.
I do this at night because it helps me sleep better if I have nothing in my head to worry about forgetting.

IMG_8910

If there was one thing that I could recommend for you to do EVERY DAY, no matter what, it would be this. Honestly, this saves my sanity every day and I am so happy to share it with you. There is tonnes of information online about brain dumps or mind sweeps but this is the way that works for me!

Let me know if this helps you out at all.
Don’t forget to like and subscribe and share this post.
Find me on facebook, and feel free to comment below with your brain dump systems! 🙂

Have a lovely day!
Maz

3 thoughts on “Planning for Beginners: Mastering the BRAIN DUMP

    • So basically they break that list down into categories. Its a list of things that you will have on our mind at any given time. For example, right now, I have to worry about writing blog posts, 2 articles for school, a lesson for the guild and more work on this series, so id go through the trigger list and it would remind me of anything that I might not be thinking about currently, but still need to worry about.

Leave me some love

